In my line of work there’s an old saying: “If it happens once, it’s a fluke. If it happens twice, it’s a coincidence. But if it happens three times, it’s a trend.” In the last few weeks of the Trump Era something has happened three times.

A team of psychologists could squander their careers on this, but our president is starting to conflate himself with the country itself. On April 3rd he was asked what the US could do with regards to North Korea. “I’m not going to tell you,” he said. “You know, I am not the United States of the past where we tell you where we are going to hit in the Middle East.”

This was a kind of twofer. Not only did he equate himself with the US, he placed North Korea some 5000 miles to the west of its real location. A mere triviality, as he has dozens of aides to help him find it on a map, should the need arise.

On April 12th, after dropping the Massive Ordnance Air Blast bomb on Afghanistan, he said, “What I do is I authorize my military.” I was wondering who it belonged to, so it’s nice to finally get that cleared up.

Then on April 13th, he said, “I think our dollar is getting too strong, and partially that’s my fault because people have confidence in me.” The dollar immediately dropped in value. “But that’s hurting,” he continued, “that will hurt ultimately.” And by “ultimately”, he meant the same day, apparently.

After only a few months in office, a trend is definitely developing. As King Louis XIV of France said, “L’état, c’est moi.” I am the state.

Leave a Reply

